70.1 F
HomeHighlightsUDP Wins Third Consecutive Term

UDP Wins Third Consecutive Term

Prime Minister Dean Barrow won a record third consecutive term in the 2015 General Elections held on Wednesday, November 4, 2015.

After elections were called in late September, more than a year ahead of schedule, many hoped for a change in government as the opposing People’s United Party (PUP) quickly regrouped to try and recapture their once lost governance. In addition to the PUP trying to garner what little support was left among the Belizean people, the Belize Progressive Party (BPP) did their best to recruit candidates to their newly formed political party.

Though both the PUP and the BPP fought an honourable fight, neither was able to defeat the UDP powerhouse, thus allowing them to regain control of the government with a whopping 19 seats and counting…of the total 31 seats.  The main opposition People’s United Party (PUP) took only 10 of the 31 seats.

Official results have only been announced for 30 of the 31 total constituencies as a recount is currently under way for Stann Creek West.  We should be receiving an official update shortly.

In his post-election victory address to party supporters, Prime Minister Barrow stated that “It is a magnificent victory. The magnitude of this victory still hasn’t properly set in.”

When all is said and done, of a total 196,587 voters within the country of Belize, only 140,105 made it to the polls to cast a vote.

View the complete preliminary results on MyBelize.Net.  Note that results can be displayed by district, party or constituency and is located in the main menu under Elections 2015.


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News

Related News

- Advertisement -